Initiative News & Calendar
February 8, 2017
Hancock middle school students dig through 182 pounds of trash
Students got their hands dirty and a bit smelly for a reason. By Aleah Hordges Feb 07, 2017 HANCOCK, Mich. (WLUC ... >>more
February 8, 2017
Garbology study teaches students to think about recycling
SHANCOCK — Hancock Middle School’s Garbology Waste Stream Study revealed some surprising results for a school in a city ... >>more
February 7, 2017
Recycling anniversary demonstrates local interest
Graham Jaehnig, Staff Writer HOUGHTON — The first anniversary of cardboard recycling in Houghton County was a great ... >>more
VIEW ALL NEWS
VIEW FULL CALENDAR

 

 
Who's Involved

 

Lake Superior Stewardship Initiative- Advisory Board

Last Name Organization
Baltensperger, Brad
brad@mtu.edu
Copper Country Association of School Boards
Benda, Mike
bendam@adams.k12.mi.us
Jeffers High School
Harter, Kathleen
Kathleen_Harter@nps.gov
Keweenaw National Historical Park
Hendrickson, Darrell
darrellhendrickson@charter.net
Washington Middle School (Calumet)
Mayer, Alex
asmayer@mtu.edu
MTU Center for Water and Society
McDonald, Evan
evanmcdonald@
keweenawlandtrust.org
Keweenaw Land  Trust
Petersen, Bruce
supervisor@charterportagetwp.org

bruce.petersen@chartermi.net

Supervisor, Portage Township

National Resources Conservation Service (retired)
Rulison, Linda
linda.rulison4@gmail.com
Hancock Middle School (retired)
Saaranen, Paul
psaaranen@remc1.net
E.B. Holman School (Stanton Twp.)
Sprague, Tom
tosprague@laschools.k12.mi.us
C.J. Sullivan Elementary School
Sherman, Mark
Mark_A.Sherman@plumcreek.com 
Plum Creek Timber

Leadership Team:

Shawn Oppliger
Project Manager & School Coordinator
Copper Country ISD and Western UP Center for Science, Math & Environmental Education
Tel: 906-482-0331 Email: shawn@copperisd.org
   
Joan Chadde
Co-Stewardship Project Advisor & Community Organization Coordinator
Michigan Technological University (MTU) and Western UP Center
for Science, Math & Environmental Education
Phone: 906-487-3341 Email:jchadde@mtu.edu
   
Lloyd Wescoat
Co-Stewardship Project Advisor
Michigan Technological University (MTU) and Western UP Center
for Science, Math & Environmental Education
Phone: 906-487-3341 Email: lwescoat@mtu.edu
   

2010-2011 School Partners:

  • Adams Township Schools
          Jeffers High School

  • Baraga Area Schools
          Pelkie Elementary

  • Chassell Township School
          Chassell High School

  • C-L-K Schools
          C-L-K Elementary
          Washington Middle School
          Horizons High School

  • Dollar Bay-Tamarack City Schools
          B.R.I.D.G.E. High School
          Dollar Bay High School

  • Hancock Public Schools
          Hancock High School
          Hancock Middle School

  • Lake Linden-Hubbell Schools
          Lake Linden-Hubbell Elem.
          Lake Linden-Hubbell Middle

  • L'Anse Area Schools
          C.J. Sullivan Elementary

  • Stanton Township School
          E.B. Holman School
     

2010-2011 Community Partners:

  • Aire Care

  • Alliance for the Great Lakes

  • Baraga County 4-H

  • Baraga County Fair Association

  • BHK Great Explorations

  • Calumet Housing Authority

  • Calumet Township

  • Chassell Township

  • Chassell Township Schools

  • City of Hancock

  • Copper Country Audubon Club

  • Copper Country Trout Unlimited

  • Forestland Group

  • Gratiot Lake Conservancy

  • Green Timber Forestry Consulting

  • H & Y Marina

  • Horner Flooring

  • Houghton County Historical Society

  • Hughes Farm

  • Isle Royale National Park

  • Isle Royale Institute

  • Keweenaw Bay Indian Community Fish Hatchery

  • Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College

  • Keweenaw Land Trust

  • Keweenaw Land Trust

  • Keweenaw Mountain Lodge

  • Keweenaw National Historical Park

  • Lake Linden Downtown Development Authority

  • MI Dept of Natural Resources & Environment

  • Michigan Nature Association

  • MSU Extension Baraga, Houghton, Keweenaw Counties

  • MTU Center for Water & Society

  • MTU ETEC Enterprise

  • MTU Forest & Environmental Management (FERM)

  • MTU High School Enterprise

  • MTU School of Forest Resources & Environmental Sciences

  • Northern Options

  • Peninsula Powder Coating, Inc

  • Plum Creek Timber Company

  • Stanton Township Board

  • Thimbleberry Press

  • Thomas R. Davis Elementary School

  • USDA Ottawa National Forest

  • Upper Peninsula Power Company

  • Village of L'Anse

  • Village of Lake Linden

  • Western UP Health Dept

 

809 Hecla Street | Hancock, Michigan 49930 | 906.482.0331 | info@LakeSuperiorStewardship.org

HOME | ABOUT THE INITIATIVE | SCHOOL-COMMUNITY PROJECTS | RESOURCES | GET INVOLVED | CALENDAR & NEWS | CONTACT