Who We Are

 

 

School /Community Teams 2017-2019

Elementary Schools

Barkell Elementary (not currently funded)
Chassell Elementary
CLK Elementary (not currently funded)
T.R. Davis Elementary (Dollar Bay-TC Schools)
Washington Elementary School (not currently funded)

Middle Schools

E. B. Holman
Hancock Middle School
Houghton Middle School
Lake Linden-Hubbell Middle-High School
L’Anse Middle-High School (not currently funded)
Washington Middle School

High Schools

Baraga High School (not currently funded)
Dollar Bay-Tamarack City High School
Houghton High School
Jeffers High School
Luther L. Wright High School

K-12 and Adults

Copper Country Learning Center

Leadership Team

Emily Gochis
Project Manager & School Coordinator
MiSTEM Network
Phone: 906-482-0331
Email: egochis@copperisd.org

Joan Chadde
Co-Stewardship Project Advisor & Community Organization Coordinator
Center for Science and Environmental Outreach
Michigan Technological University
Phone: 906-487-3341
Email: jchadde@mtu.edu

Lloyd Wescoat
Co-Stewardship Project Advisor & Communications Coordinator
Center for Science and Environmental Outreach
Michigan Technological University
Phone: 906-487-3341
Email: lwescoat@mtu.edu

Advisory Board

Brad Baltensperger
Copper Country Association of School Boards
brad@mtu.edu

Deirdre Erbisch
Teachers, E. B. Holman School
derbisch@stpsd.us

Kathleen Harter
Keweenaw National Historical Park
Kathleen_Harter@nps.gov

Darrell Hendrickson
Teacher, Washington Middle School (Calumet)
darrellhendrickson@charter.net

Alex Mayer
Michigan Tech Dept. of Civil & Environ. Engineering
asmayer@mtu.edu

Evan McDonald
Keweenaw Land Trust
evanmcdonald@keweenawlandtrust.org

Chuck Palosaari
Teacher, Jeffers High School
palosaaric@adams.k12.mi.us

Bruce Petersen
Portage Township Supervisor
supervisor@charterportagetwp.org

Linda Rulison
Hancock Middle School (retired)
linda.rulison4@gmail.com 

Community Partners

Partners listed in BOLD assist multiple schools

  • Alliance for the Great Lakes

  • Bessemer Chamber of Commerce

  • BHK Great Explorations

  • Calumet Township

  • Coleman Engineering

  • Copper Country Audubon Club

  • Delaware Copper Mine

  • Gierke Blueberry Farm

  • Gogebic Community College – Forestry Dept.

  • Gogebic Conservation District

  • Grandpa’s Barn

  • Green Timber Consulting Foresters, Inc

  • Hancock Middle & High Schools

  • Isle Royale National Park

  • Keweenaw Bay Indian Community

  • Keweenaw County Historical Society

  • Keweenaw Historical National Park

  • Keweenaw Land Association

  • Keweenaw Land Trust

  • Keweenaw National Historical Park

  • Lake Superior Tree Farms and Nursery

  • Master Gardeners

  • Michigan American Water Company

  • Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

  • Michigan Dept. of Natural Resources

  • Michigan Nature Association

  • MSU Extension Office

  • MTU – Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • MTU Electrical & Computer Engineering (GLRC)

  • MTU – Food Services

  • MTU Biological Sciences

  • MTU Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences

  • MTU School of Forest Resources & Environ. Sciences

  • Osceola Township

  • Ottawa National Forest - Watersmeet District

  • Stanton Township Board

  • Steiger’s Home Health Center

  • US Coast Guard

  • Washington School PTO

  • Western UP Health Department

…..and many more including many generous individuals.