Who We Are



Leadership Team

Emily Gochis
Project Manager & School Coordinator
MiSTEM Network
Phone: 906-482-0331
Email: egochis@copperisd.org

Joan Chadde
Co-Stewardship Project Advisor & Professional Learning Coordinator
Center for Science and Environmental Outreach
Michigan Technological University
Phone: 906-487-3341
Email: jchadde@mtu.edu

Lloyd Wescoat
Co-Stewardship Project Advisor & Communications Coordinator
Center for Science and Environmental Outreach
Michigan Technological University
Phone: 906-487-3341
Email: lwescoat@mtu.edu

Advisory Board

Brad Baltensperger
Copper Country Association of School Boards
brad@mtu.edu

Carol Ekstrom
Rhodes College faculty (retired)
cekstrom3@gmail.com

Deirdre Erbisch
Teacher, E. B. Holman School
derbisch@stpsd.us

Kathleen Harter
Chief of Interpretation & Education, Keweenaw National Historical Park
Kathleen_Harter@nps.gov

Darrell Hendrickson
Teacher, Washington Middle School (Calumet)
darrellhendrickson@charter.net

Alex Mayer
Professor, Michigan Technological University, Dept. of Civil & Environmental Engineering
asmayer@mtu.edu

Evan McDonald
Executive Director, Keweenaw Land Trust
evanmcdonald@keweenawlandtrust.org

Shawn Oppliger
Director, Western UP Center for Science, Math & Environmental Education (retired)
shawnoppliger@gmail.com

Chuck Palosaari
Teacher, Jeffers High School
palosaaric@adams.k12.mi.us

Bruce Petersen
Portage Township Supervisor
supervisor@charterportagetwp.org

Rachel Pressley
Assistant Regional Planner, Western U.P. Planning & Development Region
rpressley@wuppdr.org

Linda Rulison
Teacher, Hancock Middle School (retired)
linda.rulison4@gmail.com 

Community Partners

Partners listed in BOLD assist multiple schools

  • Alliance for the Great Lakes

  • Bessemer Chamber of Commerce

  • BHK Great Explorations

  • Calumet Township

  • Coleman Engineering

  • Copper Country Audubon Club

  • Delaware Copper Mine

  • Gierke Blueberry Farm

  • Gogebic Community College – Forestry Dept.

  • Gogebic Conservation District

  • Grandpa’s Barn

  • Green Timber Consulting Foresters, Inc

  • Hancock Middle & High Schools

  • Isle Royale National Park

  • Keweenaw Bay Indian Community

  • Keweenaw County Historical Society

  • Keweenaw Historical National Park

  • Keweenaw Land Association

  • Keweenaw Land Trust

  • Keweenaw National Historical Park

  • Lake Superior Tree Farms and Nursery

  • Master Gardeners

  • Michigan American Water Company

  • Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

  • Michigan Dept. of Natural Resources

  • Michigan Nature Association

  • MSU Extension Office

  • MTU – Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • MTU Electrical & Computer Engineering (GLRC)

  • MTU – Food Services

  • MTU Biological Sciences

  • MTU Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences

  • MTU School of Forest Resources & Environ. Sciences

  • Osceola Township

  • Ottawa National Forest - Watersmeet District

  • Stanton Township Board

  • Steiger’s Home Health Center

  • US Coast Guard

  • Washington School PTO

  • Western UP Health Department

…..and many more including many generous individuals.